Skip to main content

About Us

UAACOG was formed in 1974 under Federal Legislation and State Executive Order allowing the formation of “regional councils”.  There are 14 planning and management regions in Colorado. The regional councils were formed according to the boundaries of those regions.

There is no universal model for regional councils of governments. All are unique because each reflects the needs and desires of its membership as the regions have evolved economically and socially over time. UAACOG has become the organization it is today in response to the needs and opportunities of the region.

The UAACOG Board of Directors, comprised of eight elected officials representing the four counties, one commissioner from each county, and one municipal elected official (usually the mayor) from each county, directs the activities of UAACOG. The UAACOG staff is responsible for carrying out the Council's direction.

UAACOG serves Planning and Management Region 13 including Fremont, Chaffee, Lake and Custer Counties, with a combined population of 79,708 and area of 3,718 square miles.

The purpose of the organization is to provide community services on a regional basis that are not practical or efficient to provide on an individual county or municipal basis.  The Articles of Incorporation emphasize the need for a regional council based on the recognition that people in the region form a single community and are bound together not only physically, but economically and socially.  The services have evolved and changed over the years, but the benefit of regional cooperation and coordination are more important than ever.  

Today, UAACOG serves as an umbrella organization providing programs crossing the spectrum of life, from infants and children to workforce, housing, business assistance, and senior services.

  • Households Helped


  • Food Distributed

    202,654 Pounds = 101.33 Tons

  • Estimated Cost


  • Total People Helped