Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments

Planning and Management Region 13

The front of the UAACOG Building in Cañon City, ColoradoUpper Arkansas Area Council of Governments (UAACOG) was formed in 1974 under Federal Legislation and State Executive Order allowing the formation of “regional councils”.  There are 14 planning and management regions in Colorado. The regional councils were formed according to the boundaries of those regions.

There is no universal model for regional councils of governments. All are unique because each reflects the needs and desires of its membership as the regions have evolved economically and socially over time. UAACOG has become the organization it is today in response to the needs and opportunities of the region.

The UAACOG Board of Directors, comprised of eight elected officials representing the four counties, one commissioner from each county, and one municipal elected official (usually the mayor) from each county, directs the activities of UAACOG. The UAACOG staff is responsible for carrying out the Council's direction.

Serving Four Colorado Counties

UAACOG serves Colorado Planning and Management Region 13 including Fremont, Chaffee, Lake and Custer Counties, with a combined population of 82,187 and area of 3,673 square miles.

The purpose of the organization is to provide community services on a regional basis that are not practical or efficient to provide on an individual county or municipal basis. 

The Articles of Incorporation emphasize the need for a regional council based on the recognition that people in the region form a single community and are bound together not only physically, but economically and socially. 

The services have evolved and changed over the years, but the benefit of regional cooperation and coordination are more important than ever.  

Today, UAACOG serves as an umbrella organization providing programs crossing the spectrum of life, from infants and children to workforce, housing, business assistance, and senior services.

Our Mission

Strengthening our Communities

The mission of the Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments, together with the four counties of Fremont, Chaffee, Custer, and Lake, is to strengthen our communities by providing service, support and resources to make lives better. 

Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments (UAACOG) a voluntary coalition of county and municipal governments that believes working together as a region has both social and economic benefits. UAACOG provides services for the benefit of individuals, families, businesses, and local governments in four counties along the Upper Arkansas River Basin in central Colorado. 

The four county COG Region includes Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, and Lake Counties. Some programs serve additional counties, including Park, Teller, and Saguache.  We offer many human service programs, business development tools, and services to local governments throughout the four-county region.

The Power of Regional Unity

Planning and Management Region 13

Founded in 1974, the Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments (UAACOG) is a dynamic coalition of county and municipal governments dedicated to regional cooperation. Serving the Planning and Management Region 13 in Colorado, UAACOG ensures community services are efficiently provided on a regional basis, emphasizing the interconnectedness of the region's inhabitants both socially and economically.

UAACOG stands steadfast in its mission to strengthen communities. Partnering with Colorado counties, Fremont, Chaffee, Custer, and Lake, UAACOG endeavors to better lives by offering a vast range of services, resources, and support.

Adhering to the essence of regional collaboration, UAACOG believes in the immense social and economic benefits that arise from regions working hand in hand. The council continues to evolve, addressing the needs and opportunities of the region, always aiming for a brighter, more cohesive future for its inhabitants.

Have A Question

About Any of Our UAACOG Services?